The Call

10 06 2007

Cross posted from The Violence Worker

Last night, I got a phone call. It was a young woman from the Republican National Committee and she was seeking a contribution to the party. In years past, I donated somewhat regularly to the the RNC, but not this time.I admit, I was a bit gruff with the poor girl at first. I told her in no uncertain terms that I was not going to give the RNC another damn dime until they quit agreeing with Ted Kennedy on immigration. I told her she needs to tell the folks up the chain that there are a lot of people upset about this immigration issue.

I then apologized to her. I told her I wasn’t angry at her, but at the party and people like McCain and others that thought this immigration bill was something they could ram down our throats. I told her that not only did I write the President concerning my opposition, I also called the White House to tell them I was opposed to their shamnesty bill. I also said it wasn’t worth contacting my senators. Patty Murray can’t understand polysyllabic words and Maria Cantwell was too much of a Democrat hack to care.

I asked her if she was getting a lot of flak over this and she admitted the immigration bill was “making things difficult”.

She said she understood, but she was a dedicated Republican. She then said that I should consider giving to the party to help elect Republicans and I told her no. It’s not that I want the other side to win, but from now on, my money was going to go to individual candidates. I then thanked her, wished her well and hung up.

The RNC has to know by now that this immigration bill has simply made their Conservative base (including me) quite angry. If they are so arrogant as to think that we will support them in some sort of sycophantic allegiance, I’m thinking their calls to us might be their wakeup call.

We need to keep up the pressure and not let them slip this one by us.

VW

CAII
This was a production of The Coalition Against Illegal Immigration (CAII). If you would like to participate, please go to the above link to learn more. Afterwards, email stiknstein-at-gmail-dot-com and let us know at what level you would like to participate.

Actions

Information

One response

10 06 2007
Mick

Congratulations on stopping the Senate train.

The illegal immigration bill would have instantly turned the U.S. into another South American mediocre state of an elite class ruling a shrinking middleclass and an enormous lower class with 20 million more new, citizins with more rights than fourth generation Americans.

Do you realize that the kids of these immigrants will get a ticket ahead of yours in college, and for jobs at large PC corporations?

And did you know, these immigrants, once given temporary status, would get free legal counsel to help them stay this country.

You helped save the nation.

Leave a Reply

